09:40 AM

AOFAS Honors Two Female Orthopaedic Leaders

The American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society (AOFAS), is proud to announce the recipients of the 2024 Women's Leadership Awards including Elizabeth A. Cody, MD, foot and ankle surgeon at HSS. The Women's Leadership Awards are presented as part of the AOFAS Women's Leadership Initiative, established in 2018 to support and encourage women in foot and ankle orthopaedic surgery.

AOFAS member Dr. Cody is the recipient of the Career Development Award, which recognizes the professional aspirations and commitment of early- and mid-career female foot and ankle orthopaedic surgeons.

“Dr. Cody is already a leader in our field only five years into practice,” wrote Scott J. Ellis, MD, Dr. Cody's colleague at HSS, in his nomination letter. “In any setting, I have found her to always provide a rational voice, stand up for what she believes, but also work well with others.”

Dr. Cody has authored more than 40 publications, including peer-reviewed research articles and book chapters. In the AOFAS, she serves as Vice Chair for the Public Education Committee and as an Assistant Editor for Contemporary Reviews, Managerial Board Member, and Reviewer for Foot & Ankle International.

“While awards like this are a means of recognition, they have the effect of inspiring excellence,” Dr. Cody said. “I have continued to be inspired by past recipients of the Women's Leadership Awards, who make me want to do more and be better. I hope to do the same for others following in my footsteps.”

Read the full article at aofas.org.